Surrender vs Acceptance

Hi y’all

It’s been a while since I have written publicly… mainly due to respect of allowing the other in my life to have their own experience. I’m here tonight writing because honestly… I have no clue, I felt drawn to write now.

This post will self destruct in 48 hours

So… surrender vs acceptance is a huge difference in my lived experience. I could have surrendered to the fact that I love someone who has/had an addiction or I can accept that they have an addiction and their choice is theirs not mine. It may seem like minor adjustment in wording, however the reality of those two words are HUGE.

Surrender means I have no affect or effect on the situation and acceptance means (to me)that I actually do have an affect or effect on MY reaction to the situation or the outcome.

I have learned that I actually can surrender my acceptance to the outcome of the situation and embrace the “what will be will be” either way, and I can be a victim or I can be a participant in the journey.

I accept that I might be a trigger, I accept that the person I love may or may not chose to numb out life through drugs and/or self destructive behavior. Honestly, I have probably done the same thing in some form or another.

I accept that their life is their own and how they chose to live life is beyond my power… wow so much freedom comes with that – for both involved.

If I surrender, I surrender the choice to choose and so do they.

Acceptance means to me that THEY chose their life path and I a not responsible for making things better or fixing “it” whatever “it” might be.

I choose to accept them exactly where they or myself are at any given moment. Giving us both the power to choose what our next steps will be rather than surrendering to the unknown.

With all that said I chose acceptance over surrender any day…

Yes, I believe in surrendering into what the universe has to offer and I also believe that with surrendering for me, I can not surrender until I have completely accepted the person or situation fully until I accept the person for who they are now and not what I nor society expects.

What comes next in this journey of acceptance I have no idea… I do know that with acceptance, I am choosing an active participation of life rather than surrendering to the unknown. (so fabulous in many ways)

I am actively choosing to live life fully, rather than living day to day, and surrendering to a life that feels like I have no choice. I can surrender to a life that happens TO me. I am personally choosing to direct my life and react accordingly.

Life happens and I will react in each moment with the very best ability that I have at each and every given moment.

Bless you all in your journey and thank you for listening to mine!

One thought on “Surrender vs Acceptance

  1. Beautiful…Subtle, yet profound.
    Thank you for sharing this beautiful insight. It’s very applicable to my life right now as well , and I draw great comfort from it. You’re an angel 👼🏼

    Like

Leave a comment